Meditation

 

bean-seeds_shutterstock_57850783

The dictionary defines meditation as “The act of giving your attention to only one thing”, in other words when your undivided attention falls on or focuses on only one thing, you are meditating on that. How about that? If I were to channel all my undivided attention on God’s goodness, I would be meditating on God’s goodness likewise if I were to put all my attention to worrying about the future I would actually be meditating negatively about my future.

In other words, worry is meditation in the negative direction. Is it a surprise why Jesus said to us in [Matthew 6:25-34] “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble”. He uses the word worry 6 times in 10 verses to emphasize on the point about us not worrying. How much more clearer can it get that God does not want us to worry?

How about [Philippians 4:6] “Do not worry about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving; let your requests be made known to God”. The first part of the verse “Do not worry about anything” – literally means what it says… that we should worry about ‘anything’. It is but natural for us humans to worry but worry works negatively within our mind and body and does not help us in any way. So God tells us to stop doing that and rely on him. So what do we do when we have a problem? “But in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God”. In other words, this should be our lifestyle – no room for worry, prayer and petition with thanksgiving talk to God. Isn’t it amazing that we are to be giving thanks to God even when we are facing a problem? God doesn’t say this because he has put the problem in our life and he wants us to thank him for it, no, but God is saying no matter who puts problems in your life (Remember [John 10:10] – “The thief comes to steal kill and destroy” – I hope you do not think of God as a thief because in that verse, Jesus says “I have come that you may have life in abundance”), that problem would be a piece of cake for God to solve, so trust him instead and already start giving thanks to God because it is no longer your battle, but God’s, he will deal with it. When we are able to do that, we can truly experience peace no matter what the situation may be.

When I first read this I was in disbelief, I did not know how I could thank God when I was in a difficulty. All I could see before me was the problem. However, I decided to try it out and obey God’s word rather than just judge it, and it did take a little getting used to, but believe me, the word of God is just as it says. God really fights your battles when you hand them over to him. So long as you are trying to fight your own battle, you are not giving God the opportunity to do it.

I had read the entire bible from start to end and yet I never meditated on God’s word while reading it. This is why I wasn’t seeing any results in my life. I was really trying hard and it was really frustrating to see myself in this position. Here I was thinking to myself “Hey, I’ve read the whole bible” but when problems came up, I had not let God’s word take root in my heart. At Bible College, one of the greatest things that influenced me was the parable of the sower [Mark 4:3-9]. I learnt that my heart is the ground, God’s word is the seed and I had thought that I had already planted God’s word in my heart by reading the whole bible. Only then did I understand that just as a seed is planted in the ground, it needs to be watered to begin to take root. I had not watered the seed of God’s word in my heart, which means that I had not meditated on God’s word that I read, therefore it did not take root in my heart and just like the bird that snatched the seed from the ground, the devil snatched it from my heart and I was not able to use God’s word in that situation.

Now I understand the importance of meditating on God’s word and how powerful it’s result can be. With the understanding of this parable, a lot of scriptures and parables were unlocked and began coming alive in my heart. No wonder Jesus himself said to his disciples [Mark 4:13] “And He said to them, ‘Do you not understand this parable? How then will you understand all the parables?’”.  So for those who think you have read the whole bible and that’s like a tick mark on the list of things to do in your life, then let me tell you that a tick mark will get you nowhere. It is the action of meditating on God’s word while you are reading it that brings fruit in your life, sometimes you get a thirty-fold, a sixty-fold or even a hundredfold yield all depending on how well you’ve meditated and allowed God’s word to take root.

Picture2

Meditation does not mean memorizing, if memorizing works for you then fine, but it may not work for everyone, it certainly did not work for me. God showed me how to stay focused on his word and to use my every imagination possible and live that word so that it starts developing root. Life gives you several opportunities to try out God’s word and live it. When I learnt how to do that, I began to see results in my life. Slowly I was able to work on my unbelief and let my faith dominate. I’m not saying I have perfected it, but I can definitely say that faith dominates unbelief in my life and that is why I see results no matter what the situation is. I hope my reflections may have encouraged you in some way and I pray that you are able to meditate on God’s word and let it take root in your life so that you are like an evergreen fruit bearing tree. Stay Blessed!

Leave a Reply

