A Contemporary Psalm 51

P51

1 I give thanks for having mercy on me, O God,
According to Your loving-kindness;
According to the multitude of Your tender mercies,
For blotting out my transgressions.

2 For washing me thoroughly from my iniquity,
And cleansing me from my sin.

3 For when I acknowledged my transgressions,
And my sin that was before me.

4 Against You, You only, had I sinned,
And did this evil in Your sight
That You were found just when You spoke,
And blameless when You judged.

5 Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity,
And in sin my mother conceived me.

6 Behold, You desired truth in the inward parts,
And in the hidden part You made me to know wisdom.

7 You purged me with hyssop, and I was made clean;
You washed me, and I became whiter than snow.

8 You made me hear joy and gladness,
That my broken bones began to rejoice.

9 Your face is no longer hidden from me,
For you blotted out all my iniquities.

10 You created in me a clean heart, O God,
And renewed a steadfast spirit within me.

11 Your presence is always with me,
And Your Holy Spirit dwells in me.

12 You restored to me the joy of Your salvation,
And upheld me by Your generous Spirit.

13 Now I will teach transgressors Your ways,
And sinners shall be converted to You.

14 You delivered me from the guilt of bloodshed, O God,
The God of my salvation,
And my tongue continually sings aloud of Your righteousness.

15 O Lord, You opened my lips,
And my mouth now shows forth Your praise.

16 For You did not desire meaningless sacrifices, or else I would give it;
You did not delight in burnt offering.

17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit,
A broken and a contrite heart
These, O God, You do not despise.

18 You do good in Your good pleasure to Zion;
Building the walls of Jerusalem.

19 Now You are pleased with the sacrifices of righteousness,
With the sacrifice of praise, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name.

Leave a Reply

