Understanding His Kingdom – Part 2

key

In the last part, we saw how God has already established His kingdom here on earth in spirit form. We know that one day the Lord will return and establish His kingdom physically. We also saw that God poured out His Spirit on all flesh and anyone can receive His Spirit if he repents and turns back to God. When we receive God’s Spirit, He stays resident in us as He promised in [Matthew 28:20] “Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age”. He never departs and comes again and again departs and comes again. This is one of the differences between the Old Covenant and the New Covenant. When we walk in the Spirit, we walk in God’s established Kingdom and God’s blessings and promises are manifested in our lives here on earth. This is why we have great miracles and healings taking place even today. When we walk in the flesh we walk according to the kingdom of the prince of darkness which is why Paul wrote to the Romans [Romans 7:18 – NKJV] “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells”. Walking “after the Spirit” is a lifestyle of “walking in the Spirit”. We don’t just visit God’s kingdom on weekends but we live in it every day.

Today we will see another very important aspect of God’s kingdom. The word of God says that God created man in His own image and likeness, so we are unlike other creations of God, which are not in His likeness and image.  [Ephesians 2:10] says “We are His workmanship”. I love the original Greek word in this verse that is translated as ‘workmanship’; the word is ‘poema’. It is the word from which we get ‘poem’. We are God’s ‘poema’ or God’s ‘poem’. Wow! That really is good to know. The verse further goes on to say that we were created in Christ Jesus for good works which God prepared in advance that we should walk in them. So we see a kingdom principle here, good works is the result of our creation in God’s kingdom. It is important to note that ‘good works is not a goal’, but rather it is described as a path to walk on. If you get what I’m trying to say you’ll understand that I don’t have to strive to do good works, but I walk in it as a result of who I am created as, in other words, if I understand my identity, I understand that good works are a result of it. It is possible for a person to stray away from walking on a path and so we are capable of straying away from good works. This happens when we walk in the flesh. However, God’s Spirit is always with us to redirect us back onto our path and if we are sensitive to the Spirit then we can get back to walking in the Spirit and after the Spirit.

[1 John 4:16] says “God is love”. So let me explain this in simple mathematical terms.

If A=B

And A=C

Then B=C.

In the same way, If we are created in God’s image and likeness (A=B) and God is love (A=C), Then we are love (B=C). That means I who walk in the Spirit, I am love.

Mind you, I am not saying I am God because of A=B, but just that you understand that I have the likeness and image of God therefore this equation holds true. Now to really understand my identity, let us read [1 Corinthians 13:4-8] “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonour others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails”.  Firstly, these verses are talking about who God is and secondly because I am made in His image it talks about my identity. So, I am patient, kind, I do not envy, do not boast, I am not proud, do not dishonour others. I am not self-seeking, I am not easily angered and I keep no record of wrongs. I do not delight in evil but I rejoice with truth. I protect, trust, hope and persevere. I do not fail. Now when you read it that way you will say, “Hey wait a minute! Whom am I kidding? I know I am not that way, I know it”. However, this is not talking about who you think you are. It is talking about your identity. Yes, it is true that I may have not been patient at times. Does that change my identity? No. If a deer wears a lion’s skin, does it become a lion? No, it remains a deer because that is its identity. As long as I remember my identity, I can get back to who I really am and walk in it. But if I forget my identity then I will continue in what I think I am. I hope this wasn’t boring or confusing but getting hold of this kingdom truth will set you free from a works mentality where you are trying hard to be who you want to be. Just as a tree does not try to produce fruits, it just bears the fruits as long as it is nourished and watered, in the same way, when we are nourished and watered by God’s Word, we begin to bear the fruits of His kingdom. I don’t try to be patient, kind and so on; I am patient, kind and so on.

So when walking in the Spirit i.e. when I’m walking in His kingdom I have to be mindful of who I am and my identity. That helps me deal with loads of stuff which when I try to deal with through my flesh I would certainly struggle. Wow! There’s so much I wanted to share today, but I’ll have to stop here and continue in my next post. So “Stay Blessed!” until then.

Related post : Understanding His Kingdom – Part 1

Leave a Reply

