Countering the enemy

This isn’t about the video game that has made itself largely popular with today’s youth and adult alike, but I’m talking about countering an enemy that is more real than a game and has made more people victims than the video game.

Many of my posts begin with something like “There was a time in my life when I did not believe in such and such a thing but now…”, 🙂 well I do that so that you have a background of where I’m coming from and today’s post is no different. I did not believe in demons and demonic attacks until about 10 years ago. I used to think that people who experience these things are just a little messed up in their minds that all. I thought that some people actually faked it so that they could get attention (and maybe some really do that, I won’t be surprised), but if someone had to tell me that they were being controlled or attacked by an evil spirit, I wouldn’t believe them.

My born-again experience was truly a supernatural one because the Lord fixed a lot of my false beliefs (or should I say unbeliefs), and turned my messed up mind right-side up. As part of this experience I saw the attack of the evil spirit and was clueless in dealing with it. Unfortunately for me, my wife was on the receiving end, so obviously I didn’t want to mess up, however I did attempt using my reason and logic to deal with it, only to be disappointed. I had to surrender this to God and it was a piece of cake for Him. This experience got me to start believing in demonic forces and their attacks on us.

Close to 3 years ago, I myself witnessed first hand an attack from the enemy. It was so bizarre that I can’t use any of my reasoning to describe or explain it. This was the time when I was attending bible college. I remember one day after class, some of us were practicing for a skit which was to be performed at a college picnic event 2 days later. When we were done with the practice and as we were about to head back home, as I got down from the college building, in an instant I began to experience these things:

1. A sudden rise in body temperature.

2. A sudden headache.

3. A sudden weakness or lack of strength.

4. Both my wrists and both my ankles were in an instant visibly swollen and in terrible pain.

I believe sometimes Satan overdoes things to stop us in our walk with God. If nos.1-3 were the only things I experienced I would have probably resigned to the fact I was unwell and needed to go see a doctor. Actually I did believe that I needed to see a doctor right away because the pain in my wrists and ankles were too much for me to bear. But since it was about 5 pm in the evening and I knew that the doctor was available from 7 pm onward, so I decided to just take rest and hit the sack. Because of the temperature I had, I took a paracetamol and  covered my whole self under the sheets to take a nap.

About an hour later still trying to get sleep, I began talking to the Lord, how strange that at one moment I was absolutely perfect, but the very next instant I had these 4 things in my body and the Lord spoke to me and said ‘What are you doing under those sheets?’. I was like “Huh! What do you expect me to do?”  He said to me ‘Rise up, I want you to rejoice and pray in tongues’. At that very instant it struck me that this was an attack from the enemy and the Lord wanted to teach me how to take up my authority and use it. I sat up on bed and immediately started thanking God. Within a couple of minutes I was able to rejoice and I began praising God, speaking in tongues. I rebuked the sickness in the name of Jesus. What joy it gave me, I was enjoying the time so much that I hadn’t realized I had spent an hour in it.

I then got off my bed and behold there were no traces of body temperature, no headache, no weakness nor any swelling and pain. All of it had disappeared. I was excited and rejoiced all the more. Only then I began to understand Paul’s exhortation to the Philippians in [Philippians 4:4]“Rejoice in the Lord always and again I say rejoice”. The ‘always’ in this verse began to make sense to me.

God wants us to always defeat the enemy whenever he comes to attack us and rejoicing in the Lord is the best weapon the have against him because it is the Word of God.

[Luke 10:17-21 – NIV] says “The seventy-two returned with joy and said, “Lord, even the demons submit to us in your name. He replied, I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven. I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you. However, do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven. At that time Jesus, full of joy through the Holy Spirit, said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. Yes, Father, for this is what you were pleased to do.”

Notice in the above verse, Jesus says He has given us authority to overcome ‘all’ the power of the enemy. This verse is also tied to rejoicing, but not in the rejoicing that the spirits are submitted to us, but the rejoicing has to be because of our heavenly Father’s such great love for us that He has confirmed us to be with Him in heaven eternally.

One Response to “Countering the enemy”

  1. […] would have noticed that this is almost similar to the experience I had which I’ve described in “Countering The Enemy”. This is the second time Satan tried to attack me so that I would not be available or useful to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

