Delight In The Lord

1098_pd1269603_1_small

I remember as a school kid having different dreams for my future. I once was determined that I wanted to be a mathematician, then I wanted to be a research scientist, an astronomer, a cosmologist, a physicist, a neurologist, a psychologist, a psychiatrist at other times I wanted to be an expert in the field of sports or music. I became none of these though I genuinely believe they were desires of my heart and I had an avid passion for all of these.

It turned out that while I was doing my engineering, I discovered my love for computers. Though my course was in hardware – electronics, software appealed to me the most. So my career turned out to be in software and I began enjoying every moment of it. Isn’t it fun when you love your work? I can barely think of a dull moment in my career.

But something was bound to happen for which I hadn’t the faintest clue. A change. Yes, beginning with a small change from the inside, it was going to turn my whole world around and I wasn’t really prepared for it. I’ve shared this in “An Intimate Relationship With God”

However to summarize I began to seek God in 2006 because He rescued me and my wife from an irremediable situation, all this, while I wasn’t really seeking Him and turned to Him only at the last minute out of desperation. The more I began seeking God the more I began noticing changes taking place within me. God was dealing with my pride, ego, emotions, thoughtlessness and indifference and a whole load of stuff that I wasn’t even aware of. Anyway one thing remained constant, I wanted to know God and everything as much as I could learn. My daily prayer to God was that He would reveal to me who He was and things about Him. One day He put a strong desire in my heart to go to a certain bible college (Charis Bible College – Chennai, India approx. 1200 km away from where I stayed) at first I thought it was only my thoughts but later when He confirmed the same through my wife (to whom I did not even share this thought with) I was amazed and knew God was going to answer my prayer so I quit my job and went for it.

Truly enough I learnt such truths about God that all the questions about God that bothered me were put to rest. I felt sincerely loved and I was experiencing heaven on earth and for the first time in my life I began to have a real relationship with God. During this time I began to experience a new desire in my heart – a desire to teach. Never in my life did I ever want to be a teacher or professor of any kind, neither did I ever have a discussion with anyone about teaching, in fact until a few months before I was very much convinced in my mind that I was not made for teaching, I didn’t have the skills and I would never be successful at it. I really felt this desire to teach very strongly, not just like a passing thought that would come and go, but this desire just sat in my heart and was there all the time.

I knew this was the Lord’s doing and I wanted to give it a try. So when I came back after attending bible college, I began to talk to the Lord about it and he assured me that He had placed that desire in my heart and that He would bring it to pass. Then I began to ask Him, Lord what would I teach and where? I don’t have a teaching degree nor do I have any experience in teaching, all that I knew was related to my job. Should I get back into the corporate world and teach the stuff that I already knew, more like a trainer that a teacher? So I began thinking in that direction and was getting ready to look out for opportunities in that area. But in a few days time, the Lord spoke to me and made it very clear. “I want you to teach the under-privileged in your city and work with them.” As soon as I heard that, I felt a certain peace and joy indescribable. I asked God for 3 things :

  1. I didn’t want to struggle to get to the right job and place
  2. I wanted to work with Christians or in a Christian organization
  3. I wanted God to teach me how to teach (basically that God would be my T4T trainer)

Sure enough within 15 days I had all 3 requests granted to me. God prepared the heart of the people in the very first NGO I approached and there I was working as a teacher of vocational skills. Without a doubt I can say God taught me and is still teaching me in my current job and how delightful it is when this happens. I can just smile when I read this verse from the [Psalms 37:3-5 – NKJV]“Trust in the Lord, and do good; Dwell in the land and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him and He shall bring it to pass.”

When we delight in the Lord, He gives us new desires which work towards His purpose for us. I believe that is what I am experiencing at the moment. I hope this has blessed you !

5 Responses to “Delight In The Lord”

  1. You’re so cool! I do not believe I’ve read through something
    like this before. So nice to find someone with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web
    site is something that is needed on the internet, someone with a
    little originality!

    Like

  2. This article is really a pleasant one it assists new web viewers, who
    are wishing for blogging.

    Like

    • Hi Raymond, thanks for your kind words. I am no professional when it comes to blogging. I just decided one day that I want to share the love God’s been pouring out on me with the rest of the world.

      Like

  3. […] desire in my heart. I have described in brief a little of this experience in one of my older posts “Delight In The Lord”. I hadn’t really reflected much about the way in which God had started working in me a long […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

