Unity

Ever since I was a child I always wondered why there were divisions. Why were there so many countries? Why so many languages, religions, traditions, cultures and customs?

 Having grown up in India a country that has over 20 official languages in its 28 states, language isn’t the only difference. Religion, culture, food, landscape, industry etc are all so different that when you step from the border of one state and enter into another, it looks like you’ve entered a new country.

 I totally understand and welcome diversity, that’s what makes our life so enjoyable. Imagine if everyone in the world ate only pasta, and everywhere you went you only saw mountains, everyone dressed up in shirt and trousers, I guess I’d be bored very soon and not so enthusiastic to travel anywhere. But thank God for diversity it allows us to be different and unique and at the same time respect each others differences in choice.

 Over the years as I grew up, I noticed (and this is true for people all over the world) differences leading to groupism and how each one tries to promote their group over the other. Often this leads to bitterness and enmity and therefore division.

 Though I don’t understand it all and I may never be able to have everyone agree on my thoughts, I do wish we all could live in a diverse world respecting each others differences and at the same time not be divided but be united in mind and heart, learning to love and care for each other irrespective of our differences.

 As a Christian I’ve wished that we all Christians be united as Christ Himself prayed for unity of the church “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me”[John 17:20-23 – NIV]

 God really wants us to put our differences aside and stop pointing out each others faults and mistakes, do away with pride and learn to be humble and walk in love. “As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.”[Ephesians 4:1-3 – NIV]. Have you ever thought why the word of God says “bearing with one another in love”? Why would I have to bear with another if every time I saw a mistake in someone them and I began pointing it out to them. But you may say, don’t we need to correct one another, so that they can learn and grow? True we do need to do that, but that is where the wisdom of God and the power of God begins to work and it isn’t us who can change one another, but just God alone. Therefore correction is not correction when not done in love. If God’s love and grace cannot be brought out in your action, then bear the fault or mistake in love rather than trying to fix the other person yourself. It is God’s arena, He will deal with it, you can just have mercy, be patient and pray for the other. Only with a mindset of peace can we come together in unity.

 I know many may disagree with me on this, but this is the word of God and if we really want to see unity, it takes a little humbling of ourselves. One day we will see this come to pass. How do I know? The word of God says it. “Till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ”[Ephesians 4:13 – NKJV].

