Introduction

One day a certain caterpillar named Pete, munching leaves on a branch of a tree met Paul, another caterpillar and the following conversation goes on…

c1

Pete: Boy, this is the fifth tree I’ve tried today and its leaves are just better than all the previous ones.

Paul: Oh well, been there done and that mate.

Pete: What do you mean? Are you tired of scouting new trees?

Paul: Lately I’ve just been eating all I can; you know it’s not very comfortable trying to move around now.

Pete: Hey! I’ve been wondering about that too. I’m going through the same thing and even though I’d like to get into shape, yet I can’t seem to control myself and just got to eat all these juicy leaves lying around. I wish someone could help me get rid of this weight.

Paul: Well my time is up any moment now.

Pete: What do you mean?

Paul: Well, don’t you know about the ’transformation’?

Pete: What transformation?

Paul: Look mate, I don’t know how all this stuff happen. All I know is that I will no longer be the same. I’ll be much lighter, slimmer and beautiful.

Pete: You’re kidding.

Paul: Well, you will find out for yourself.

Soon, the Pete moves off to another tree munching more leaves and enjoying his snack. A few days pass by; by this time he has put on a lot of weight and he can barely crawl around comfortably.

Pete: I need to find Paul. He said something about the ’transformation’ that I didn’t understand. I’m just going to have to get back to that tree where I met him.

Finally after a great struggle, Pete manages to get back to the tree and the same branch where he met Paul. But alas he was nowhere to be found. Disappointed he waited there for a few days. Finally a grasshopper called Rob, stops by and begins a conversation with Pete.

Rob: Boy, you look….err…ummm….awful.

Pete: You can call me ugly. That’s what I am after all a fat and ugly caterpillar.

Rob: Yeah, but why don’t you do anything about it.

Pete: I don’t know. I met this guy Paul who told me something about transformation and that how he’d be lighter, slimmer and more beautiful and now I can’t find him. Do you know anything about that?

Rob: Relax friend. I’ve seen this stuff happen to your kind of guys. It’s one of the coolest things I guess. You are going to change into a flying creature like me, or should I say better than me, because I cannot fly too long but you will be able and you’re going to look great.

Pete: I will fly? You’ve got to be kidding. I’m so heavy I can’t even crawl.

Rob: Now, now. Don’t worry, your friend was right and you’ve got to just do what you need to do and you will change.

Pete: So what do I need to do?

Rob: Sorry friend I’m not too sure about that. But I must say that you’ve got to get rid of that excess weight around you, it doesn’t look like you will be able to fly around with it. Why don’t you try exercising? Like crawling around for the whole day, maybe that would help you lose weight. If that doesn’t work try fasting I’m sure that would do good for you. Well I got to go now. Hope to see you around in your new avatar.

Pete tries his best crawling around uncomfortably but doesn’t manage to move to more than the next branch and is all tired and hungry again. He thinks to himself, maybe I should fast. But he is just not able to resist the temptation of eating the juicy leaves of the branch. And finally…

Pete: This life is miserable I can’t live like this anymore. There’s no one who can tell me the truth if there is any, about the transformation. And I can’t get to anywhere like this. I’d better end this life of mine. Maybe I should just get into the open till a bird finds me and then I’ll be free from this misery. But let me wait a couple of more days, maybe I might find Paul.

In a couple of days Pete notices the silk that the glands in his mouth produce and then as if imparted with wisdom from above, he goes about spinning a cocoon around himself on the underside of a twig.

Pete: Hey this is great! I didn’t know I could do this. My skin’s beginning to shed; I guess this is what the transformation is all about! Finally I’m new…What a relief!

Pete went into his cocoon and in a matter of days out emerged a lighter, slimmer and one of the most beautiful butterflies that Pete transformed into.

 c2

