Do You Need Rest (Part 4)

If you are looking to obtain righteousness through the Law and commandments, you will have to fulfill all these and many other commands that Jesus gave in the gospels so that you can obtain righteousness on your own. In short, it is impossible to obtain righteousness by following the Law. Jesus knew very well that what He was preaching was a stumbling stone to the people and there was just no way out, this is exactly why He came so that He could take away the burden from His people and give them rest as he says in [Matthew 11:28-30] (NKJV) “Come to me all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

c3

Jesus was talking about rest needed for our souls not bodies. Of course, rest for our bodies would eventually be the result of it. But have you sat and tried to figure out according to Jesus from what do we really need rest? It is indeed rest from trying to earn righteousness on our own which is anyway not possible even by trying to be ultra-obedient to the Law. Just try asking someone who is making an attempt, how successful he has been and you will find out for yourself. The Word of God says that such people are unskilled in the word of righteousness and need to be taught and fed just as babies are fed with milk [Hebrews 5:13]. They struggle so that they can get God to accept them for what they have done but moreso feel frustrated with their constant failure. I had a friend who told me that he now began live a righteous life by focussing on doing the right things and was quite happy about it, a few weeks later when I met him he looked disappointed and when I asked him why, he said to me “I keep trying my best but no matter how much I try there is always some area in which I fail and then when I fail, I try all the more to conquer that area, but the more I try the more I fail and the more I get frustrated. I do not know how I can be righteous in spite of all my willingness to be righteous and desire to refrain from any ungodliness. I feel unworthy of God who is so holy and pure, how can I ever come before God if this is how it’s going to be.”

Many people are living a life of guilt and condemnation, not condemnation from God for God does not condemn, but rather self-condemnation. They feel incapable of ever making it up to God for whatever wrong they have done in the past or the wrong that they are still doing, Are you experiencing such a situation in your life? Are you frustrated with trying to live a guilt and sin-free life? The harder you try does it get more difficult? Would you rather have it such that no matter what you did God would always be pleased with you and not look at all your wrongdoings? If you have answered yes to any of these questions, then this is the rest that Jesus came to give you. He wants you to quit trying on your own and allow Him to do it for you.

Leave a Reply

